What are you learning from your children?

A few things to reflect on

This is a real concern for parents raising their children in the diaspora. Not only do we have to deal with blurred cultural boundaries and normalization of perversion (thanks to technology), our young families are now uprooted from the tangible cultural elements and village that raised them. It gives me great concern but I’m deliberate with transferring the values that have enriched my life to my son including faith, community, accountability, respect and healthy sense of identity. I leverage technology and visits to ensure my son has access to members of our extended family so he understands our identity as a family and grows up with a sense of accountability. I’m also glad to have found other parents here in the diaspora who are part of my village now and we can support each other as we raise godly children.

Deborah Adeojo-Iteghie on Umi Spotlight

Hello mama, you are a beautiful source of creation and you’ve completed the cycle of birthing a miracle. Hats off to you, you’re a gem.
On the days you feel low, never forget that you are valuable.
Always embrace your new reality, your life is truly beautiful…see it for what it truly is. Dance on merry days, Cry on painful days and Ask for help on trying days when you need to💗

Adenike Badejoko on Umi Spotlight

One thing to ask yourself

What lessons are you learning from your kids? What did you learn from them over the holidays. I mean, you had all that time with them. What did you find out?

Well, my little girl sang our ears off during the holidays. I mean, she could sing different songs non-stop for 30 minutes if you let her. But what really stood out for me was how sensitive she has grown to be. I could just be stretching my neck due to a sprain or her Dad could squeeze his face from been in deep thought. It could be anything really and she would come rub our heads and say, “sorry.” It might sound so mundane, but she is so attentive. That’s quite a thing for me.

What did you learn? What are you learning from those adorable kids of yours?

One thing to try this weekend

Try prepping meals that you and your kids will take to work and school next week from this weekend. Now that we have a food timetable for school lunch, how about we stock up on what we do not have (or make what’s already in the house work for us) and cook what we can ahead. That way, the week will be a lot easier.

Opportunities for African Women

Check out these amazing opportunities. You never know…….

Enjoy your weekend!

 

Which of the sections resonated the most with you?

Reply

or to participate.