What "unserious" generational habit are you breaking?

A few things to reflect on

I would like to teach my child how to be domestic even from a tender age. I will also teach him how to respect family "gist." Growing up, we don't discuss our family issues or things that go on in the house with our friends or strangers. Our parents allowed us to know stuff and we were taught not to tell our friends. For instance, if our dad got a new house or our mum told us the gender of our new sibling, we dared not go out and say it.

Olutola Edochie on Umi Spotlight

Cherish the small and big moments with your child. Create lasting memories that will strengthen the bond with your little one. Give yourself some accolades (smiles.... No dulling moment)
Remember that every family's journey is unique, and there's no right or wrong way to be a great mom. Trust yourself, love your child, and cherish the incredible experience of motherhood in Africa.

Florence Polit on Umi Spotlight

One thing to ask yourself

What "unserious" generational habit are you breaking?

I grew up in one of those households where we have a nylon bag that held all other nylon bags, where we have more tupperwares than we could ever use. And no food went to waste; no matter how much we had. Well… I do all of these now 😀 . My house is filled with more tupperwares than I would need and more nylons than I can count. I just cannot throw them out; I mean, they might be useful. And they usually are. 

well, I never said I had it all figured out.

But I do make sure to say, “I love you” at least twice to my daughter everyday. And I try to apologise when I see that I have treated her unfairly. I don’t think I got enough of that while growing up.

Over to you, Beautiful Mama!
What generational habits have you began to break?
Please share with us.

One thing to try this weekend

Apply for the Umi Mentorship Program this weekend. If you have benefited from the program, share with other new mothers within your circle. See what others are saying about the experience.

Enjoy your weekend!

 

Which of the sections resonated the most with you?

Reply

or to participate.