Umi Spotlight: Olutola Edochie

A mum in Lagos, Nigeria

With Umi Spotlight, we are sharing the best of what other mothers have figured out both in their motherhood journey and in life.

On this edition, Olutola Edochie shares with us some of the beautiful things she learnt as a child and would like her children to also inculcate as they grow up. She also talks about her parenting style as well as the memories that she hope her children would hold dear. Read more about her here

Going back to the way you were raised, are there any styles of parenting or traditions your parents raised you with that you now also do with your kid(s)?
I would like to teach my child how to be domestic even from a tender age. I will also teach him how to respect family "gist." Growing up, we don't discuss our family issues or things that go on in the house with our friends or strangers. Our parents allowed us to know stuff and we were taught not to tell our friends. For instance, if our dad got a new house or our mum told us the gender of our new sibling, we dared not go out and say it.

What about your upbringing would you prefer not to repeat with your own journey as a parent?
Beating and using harsh words on my child.

What attributes of yours or that of your husband have you began to see in your kids?
Meticulous and attention to detail, that's from my husband. I haven't noticed any traits from me 😩

What was postpartum like for you? Did you have help? Were there any complications with your mental and physical health? And if there was, how did you deal with it?
Postpartum was smooth for me. I was fine.

How do you relax? What is self care for you?
Self-care... I don't think I have been paying attention to that. I will be more intentional in the coming year.

What do you miss most about your life before kids?
Oh my goodness.... Everything. I miss everything. The freedom of movement, time to be alone, not sharing my time and putting anyone in my plan. I can go on and on.

What was the best advice you got about being a mother to your kids?
Hmmmm. I can't remember any for now.

How would you describe your parenting style?
Intentional parenting.

What about motherhood and parenting do you still struggle with?
Yes I do but it gets better by the day.

How do you discipline your kids (instead of beating them)?
My son is just 10 months, so I am doing more of redirection for now.

What's your happiest childhood memory?
Coming home from school. I love home.

What would you prefer your children’s memory of their childhood be?
I want my children to always remember how my husband and I love each other. I want them to hold dearly the memory of how our home is built and structured.

What is your proudest moment so far as a mum?
My baby looks healthy and cute. When people tell me, I feel proud 😊

Who are you, aside being a mum?
I am a homely person, I love family. I am also a career person.

What was your experience with healthcare when you were pregnant and during the delivery of your kid(s)?
I didn't want any ugly experience so I used a very good private hospital. Everything was top-notch.

What are some holiday traditions that you would like your kids to grow up to cherish?
Visiting grandparents. Praying together as a family. Holiday camp meetings.

What are your thoughts on family planning? Did you plan your kids or did you just go with the flow?
Lol... I am currently on a 3 years implant. I took it when my son was 6 months old. I don't want story that touches the bone😄

If you could do something different about your choice of career and family life, what would it be?
Nothing really.

Any parenting, family goals and career goals for next year that you will like to share.
I am still working on it. I have some in my head though.

What advice(s) do you have for new mums in Africa?
Pray, seek knowledge and empower yourself with skills that will give you good money.

Reply

or to participate.