Who are you outside of your roles?

A few things to note…

I was always looking outside myself for strength and confidence but it comes from within. It is there all the time.

Anna Freud

Nourishing yourself in a way that helps you blossom in the direction you want to go is attainable, and you are worth the effort.

Deborah Day

One thing to think about

Who are you outside of your roles?
One of the questions that I have had to ask myself this week is, “Who am I outside of my roles? Outside of me being a wife, a mother, my role at work, a daughter to my parents and a big sister, who is Moyinoluwa?

I ask because it is very comfortable to define oneself based on what we do and the place we take in other people’s lives. It’s fulfilling, even. However, it can become exhausting to the point where it feels like you are always giving and your cup is not being replenished. It gets to the point where you feel empty; you have absolutely nothing else to give. That’s the reason it’s important to know who you are in your core. So that at the point where all these external things feel exhausting, you can get back to who you are and figure out how to replenish yourself. If you have not figured out who you are, you will continue to expect other people to fill you up. How would you know what exactly makes you feel whole, if you don't even know who you are? I think we should ask ourselves this question and figure it out. You do not even have to send your response to me. I just want you to mull it over, and find yourself. Because if you are able to figure out who you are, you can bring your authentic self to the roles that you play.

One thing to do this weekend

Application to join the next cohort of Umi mentorship program is still open. Do not miss the opportunity to join this next cohort.
Details are on the flier below. APPLY HERE.

Reply

or to participate.