What talent of yours are you not using?

A few things to reflect on

If a woman is the designated primary care giver by reason of her physiology (that is she is endowed by her Creator with the equipment to bear and nurture children,) then it should follow also by this line of thought that all get God given “equipment” was created for a deployment. That means her brain is meant to be put to use, as are her inherent talents and abilities!

Jumoke Adenowo in a piece on Bellanaija

Part of what's important about motherhood is that you be happy. Your kids need to see a happy, fulfilled mother. The worst thing you can do is provide your children with an unhappy, put-upon, bitter self. If I'm pursuing my goals, my kids are seeing me at my best. I am filled up, I am happy, I am not feeling empty, depleted, and therefore resentful about the fact that I'm missing out. As big of a blessing as they are, I don't want them to feel like I've sacrificed, I don't want them to feel that burden. I always remember that a happy working woman is a happy mother.

Shonda Rhimes on redbookmag.com

A question to ask yourself

What talent of yours are you not using?

No one is born with just one thing. We are a collection of several gifts and talents. Everyone has the capacity to do/be different things. What you are known for or that which you see yourself be on a daily basis is what you have allowed yourself to be. It is that part of you that you have given functions to over the years. There is so many more areas of our lives that could be very functional to us or even be impactful that we have just not been using. But you would have discovered it.

So, what is it for you?

Something to do this weekend

To commemorate international women’s day coming up next weekend, Umi will be hosting a webinar on the theme “Adapting to Changing Industries: Upskilling and Reskilling.” The webinar comes up on Saturday March 9th, 2024 by 6pm WAT. We are bringing in an expert to help us better understand the future of work and the skills needed to stay relevant. You do not want to miss it.

Click here to register

Reply

or to participate.