What do you love about your life?

A few things to reflect on

I am not a ‘spare the rod’ parent. The rod can mean different things and it has its place. However, my son is still too young for me to be offended by his explorations. Being a toddler's mum may be tough but I can’t imagine how tough it is being a toddler. I mean, the amount of development he has to go through in such a short time and having to take in so much information and figure the world out with limited ways to communicate his feelings? Must be tough! So I understand the acting out. I understand the “mistakes”. It’s all part of growth and exploration. And because I understand, I am able to communicate better in love. I’m able to smile and hug besides the occasional “stop that!”. At this phase, I don’t think there’s much (if any) discipline to do. Just lots of love, understanding and modeling appropriate behavior.o. Just lots of love, understanding and modeling appropriate behavior.

Deborah Adeojo-Iteghie on Umi Spotlight

Join the community to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Umi for Mothers to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Reply

or to participate.