Umi Spotlight: Oluwafikayomi Opaleye

A mum in Lagos

With Umi Spotlight, we are sharing the best of what other mothers have figured out both in their motherhood journey and in life.

On this edition, Oluwafikayomi Opaleye chats on her journey through motherhood and some of the things she missed about her life before kids. Read more about her here.

What's an assumption you had before you became a mum that you found untrue when you began your journey of motherhood?
I am not sure I had any assumption before I became a mum because I wasn't thinking about the whole thing.

What's your why? Why are you trying to be a good mum?
I am trying to be a good mum so I can raise a godly seed. Yeah, that makes me really careful about every decision I make.

What's the best advice you've gotten about being a mother to your kid(s)?
Pray about everything

What do you miss most about your life before kid(s)
I miss being undisturbed especially with cries here and there.

What are your fears as a parent?
I don't really have fears.

How was postpartum for you? Did you have help, or how were you able to cope?
I had help for 2months after delivery but after then, it was just me and my hubby. He was really helpful.

What's your guilty pleasure? How do you let your hair down away from your responsibilities?
Most times, I see a movie or just lie in bed to clear off my head by doing nothing.

Tell us one of your proudest moments as a mum.
Seeing my girl act kindly and showing love to other kids

How do you find a balance between your relationship with your husband, your profession, and being a mum?
Apart from setting priorities right, I give attention to the three as they make demands of me.

Do you think spirituality is essential to motherhood? How so?
Yes!
It is because the word of God forms my thoughts and how I should live as a correct mother

What's one thing about motherhood that you still struggle with?
I am still struggling with getting my toddler to listen to me when I talk to. She's different with her dad.

How do you discipline your kids (instead of beating them)?
By denying her of some of her requests and scolding too.

What advice do you have for new mums now?
No pressure!
While trying to be a super mum, take care of yourself too.

Reply

or to participate.