Talking to your kids about their body and boundaries

This one is a very important and sensitive topic.

It is sensitive because nearly all the adults that I know have had an incident of being touched inappropriately as a child. I’ve personally had experiences that left me with a sense of unease, instilled a fear of men, and even led to feelings of shame for what I perceived as ‘allowing myself to be violated’.

According to the World Health Organisation (WHO), 1 in 13 boys and 1 in 5 girls have suffered some form of abuse while they were young. And there is the projection that this might continue before children are 18 years of age. 

That doesn’t sound right.

We cannot sit back and allow such traumatic history to repeat itself with our children.

Join the community to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Umi for Mothers to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Reply

or to participate.