• Umi for Mothers
  • Posts
  • Should I raise my boy child differently from the way I would raise my girl child?

Should I raise my boy child differently from the way I would raise my girl child?

Whether we like to admit it or not, the development and growth of boys and girls differ. Research has shown that girls grow taller faster, potty train faster and also hit puberty a little bit earlier than their male counterparts. Boys on the other hand are said to develop motor physical motor skills faster and also activate their risk taking skills faster than their female counterparts. And there are so many more aspects where this difference in development is obvious. 

This is probably also why interest and training of boys and girls are subjected to their skills. Or perhaps the difference in training is a result of societal expectations and the training and expectations of parents themselves. Findings show that boys are expected and trained to be tough, more handy, confident and smarter. While girls are trained and expected to be emotional, homely, accessible and also smart. A typical African  home expects more from (and will probably put more investment and time into training) the boys than the girls.

Now there is no question of right or wrong or that this difference exists. You know how you grew up. Even if you had all access to the kind of training that you want and your parents invested equally in training you and your brothers, I am sure you have examples around you of this disparity. So now that we have kids of our own, what are we going to do about it?

Join the community to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Umi for Mothers to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Reply

or to participate.