Mother’s day Reflections

Yesterday was filled with so much emotion. Mother’s day for me since I became one has been about the joys, remembering the painful parts of pregnancy and also praying to be truly worthy of the name. And a lot of gratitude for the host of mothers and aunties who have helped raise me to become the mother that I am today.

However, my reflections this time around included some other people. I realised that there are so many mums who are still waiting to carry their babies, but are yet to conceive. There are those who are struggling with conceiving for the second or third time. There are many whose mother’s day celebration is complicated because their kids have some health challenges. There are also many mums who are going through some diagnosis and illnesses that are getting in the way of performing their duties as mothers.

I realise the privilege of being present with my kid and also take my time to have another. But it wasn’t that cut and dry for me in the beginning. I had to have a myomectomy before I could even conceive my first child. That was a difficult period of my life.

I hold you up in my prayers that you will find healing, be able to conceive again, finish up your program in time so that you can be reunited with your kid, and whatever else you need to feel worthy of the title.

If you are struggling with the emotions of what you are going through, we have a community of support that will absolutely hold your hands till you get to the other side of this and for as long as you need.

Also, please reach out to experts who can advise you on any medical issues. We have a few in our contact; we can link you up with them if you want.

But the only way from here is forward. It is not filled with dejection or giving in to the pain or struggle. But in fighting and believing that all is going to be fine. Because they will be.

Reply

or to participate.