• Umi for Mothers
  • Posts
  • In what ways have you began to see yourself behave like your mother?

In what ways have you began to see yourself behave like your mother?

A few things to reflect on

As a mother, my parenting style is a mix of nurturing and structured guidance. Though I am not perfect, but I believe in providing a loving and supportive environment for my children while also setting clear boundaries and expectations. I aim to be responsive to their needs and emotions, fostering open communication so they feel comfortable sharing their thoughts and concerns.
I encourage their independence and help them explore their interests, while also teaching them values, respect, and responsibility. It's important for me to strike a balance between allowing them to make choices and guiding them to make informed decisions.
Above all, I strive to lead by example, showing them the importance of empathy, kindness, and a strong work ethic. My goal is to help them grow into confident, compassionate individuals while providing a stable and nurturing home.

Florence Polit on Umi Spotlight

I would prefer my children's memories of their childhood to be filled with a deep appreciation for our rich cultural heritage and a strong sense of unity. I would want them to remember the warm and welcoming community that embraces various traditions and languages.
I would also hope that their memories include experiences of celebrating diverse culture and understanding the importance of tolerance and respect for people of different backgrounds and faith. The memories of our shared traditions and values would be the cornerstone of their upbringing, fostering a sense of belonging and pride in their Nigerian identity.

Florence Polit on Umi Spotlight

One thing to ask yourself

Join the community to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Umi for Mothers to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Reply

or to participate.