How are you teaching your kids basic life skills?

A few things to note

I didn't fully wrap my head around the fact that there would be a person at the end of it. I read endlessly about pregnancy and what to eat and what not to eat. And then, I sort of prepared not at all for the actual baby.

Ellie Kemper on huffpost.com

Like all parents, my husband and I just do the best we can, and hold our breath, and hope we’ve set aside enough money to pay for our kids’ therapy.

Michelle Pfeiffer on closerweekly.com

One question to ask yourself

How am I teaching my kids practical life skills? Like I said in yesterday’s newsletter, we all make plans to do these things. But we never get around to doing it. It’s easier to get them dressed, pull their clothes and take care of them by ourselves. It’s faster too, right? Having them in the kitchen helping out gets messy and it waste so much time.

But we would need to start. Maybe not all the time, but we need to make a deliberate effort to start. I am grateful for the life skills that my parents taught me and I have had to update my knowledge as I grew. I have also had front row seats to people who lack basic life skills. You do not want your kids to be one of the clueless ones.

One thing to do this weekend

I have no suggestions for you this weekend. I can only tell you what I want to do. I am going to try to numb myself, to stay still and rid myself of worries. I am going to pursue only things that bring me peace while I steer clear of anything that would complicate my sanity. I am always available to hear about your own plans. This is mine.

Enjoy your weekend.

Reply

or to participate.