Don't be 'authentic'

Ever so often, authenticity is used as a crutch for bad behaviour or lack of professionalism. When people say, "be your authentic self always," I worry. Because I do not give a lot of thought about the authentic self of my doctor, nor do I want to really get to know who my vendors are in their core. What I care most about is their consistent professionalism and delivery of top notch service.

While your authentic self may help your friendship grow stronger and probably distinguish you within your family. At work, it may very well be your downfall.

If I am ever my authentic self at work, I most likely will not make friends, would work alone, and be very well happy to just do the work and move on. But that does not bode well for my future at the organisation, nor does it help me form meaningful connections that will be useful in other areas of my life and neither is it helpful for the perception of my colleagues towards me.

So instead, I am learning to;
Maintain my values: There are certain lines that should never be crossed.

Show up consistently: Do the job that I have been commissioned to do. The one I've committed to doing.

Be professional. And keep my promises.

Be willing to learn.

And be confident.

That's what it takes to be authentic and professional.

Often times, what you perceive as your authentic self could benefit from some polishing, professionalism, confidence and lots of unlearning and relearning.

Reply

or to participate.