• Umi for Mothers
  • Posts
  • Did your parents argue/fight in front of you growing up?

Did your parents argue/fight in front of you growing up?

A few things to note…

When you have children, you have to be fiercely organized to get anything done. I learned that if I don’t put myself up on the priority list, somehow my kids will eventually get knocked down on that list.

Michelle Obama

I’m learning to feel better about asking for help, whether it’s from family or hiring help. It’s not profound but I love my career and I don’t want to make myself feel bad about pursuing both. Just cutting myself some slack has been very helpful for me.

Mindy Kaling

One thing we want to know

Did your parents argue/fight in front of you growing up?

What do you feel about that?

There were a few occassion when an argument got heated with my parent right in front of me. It was awkward. A lot of time they had to go continue the conversation inside the room. If it was in the car, the argument is usually followed by a very awkward silence before someone (it doesn't matter who) breaks the ice.

It never did feel out of place that they were arguing. I mean, it was inevitable. I just wanted them to be okay. And they usually were.

So, tell me. What was your experience?

One thing to do this weekend

Application to join the next cohort of Umi mentorship program is open now. If you are at a point in your life where you are questioning how you would do this parenting business right while still pursuing your career goals, this mentoring program is for you.
You should also invite those new mums in your circle who needs this to apply. It’s going to be an intense 3 months experience (from September to November) that you will be glad you had.
 
Details are on the flier below. APPLY HERE.

Reply

or to participate.