Ask for Help!

One thing that we keep echoing in our words to you each week is the need to ask for help as you embark on this journey of motherhood. We keep emphasising it because you truly do need help, if you are going to raise that child right. You do not want to crash while doing it. And you might be thinking, “it’s easier said than done”. I get that.

Majority of us do not like to bother people with our needs and wants. And we have been raised to hold everything down by ourselves. If you are like me, the whole essence of your training with your mother was mainly for this moment. I was raised right by my mothers to be able to function effectively in society … and to raise my kids right. So, I should truly have everything under control.

But I don’t. And neither do you. You don’t know everything there is to know about everything. Blink and it’s a new era that demands specific ways of functioning in it. You do not have all the strength in the world. You are not a superhuman. If you keep going at this pace, you will crash. And that is not good for you, nor is it good for your kids.

So, what do you do?

Join the community to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Umi for Mothers to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Reply

or to participate.